Work with reassigned completed courses
Many organizations have the need to reassign regular courses back to learners for purposes such as remediation or performance improvement. For example, if learners fail an audit, they need to take the same course again although it is completed by them in an earlier attempt.
Cornerstone Saba provides the ability to reassign courses with active sources back to the learner's plan after completion. The completed course can be reassigned to learners through a valid source of assignment such as by managers, alternate managers, organizational managers, registrars, or through prescriptive rules and job roles. Cornerstone Saba supports multiple reassignments of a course on completion.
It must be noted that this reassigned completed course workflow is different than the one for recurring courses.
Enable the feature
When this feature is enabled, learners can register for different classes of the same course depending on the Recurring Registration setting at the system level as well as the policy at the course level.
For the reassignment workflow to work smoothly, it is recommended that your administrator sets the value of this policy to Allow recurring registrations. For more details, contact your system administrator.
Configure notifications
| Event Name | Event Type | Event Description |
|---|---|---|
| Course reassigned to learner's profile | Triggered |
Triggered when a course is reassigned to a learner's profile. The event is triggered based on the course's domain. |
| Course reassigned to learner's profile based on learner's domain | Triggered |
Triggered when a course is reassigned to a learner's profile. The event is triggered based on the learner's domain. |
To configure these notifications, navigate to Admin > System > Configure System > Services > Learning > Catalog > Courses > Notifications.
Points to note
- Currently, when the completed course reassignment feature is enabled, Cornerstone Saba does not allow users and administrators to delete any completed course (transcript) records. They are also not allowed to change the status of a completed course from Successful to Not Evaluated or from Unsuccessful to Not Evaluated.
- A completed course needs to be associated with an active source of assignment to be eligible for being reassigned using this workflow. For example, if a learner registers for a course and completes it without adding it to their plan, then there is no source of assignment associated with the course. Now, if the same course is assigned to the learner by some source such as their manager, then Cornerstone Saba considers it as the first assignment of the completed course, and so it does not display the Re-assigned status.
- When the source of assignment is a system-based source such as a prescriptive rule or a job role, the consecutive reassignment of the course after completion through the same source does not move the completed course into the Re-assigned status. For example, consider that a prescriptive rule assigned a course to a learner's plan and the learner completed the course successfully. Now, when the same rule is processed again, it does not assign the course back to the same learner and so there is no reassignment. In such cases, the administrator needs to explicitly create another prescriptive rule with the same set of requirements and member criteria to reassign the completed course back to those learners such that the course enters the reassignment workflow.
- When a learner adds a course to their plan and completes the course, Cornerstone Saba does not display the Add to Plan link to the learner on the enhanced course details page. So, the learner cannot reassign the same course from the enhanced course details page. Same condition applies to the manager as well. However, they can reassign the course from the Assign Learning workflow in Cornerstone Saba.
- Currently, the course reassignment status does not impact the certification or curriculum lifecycle.
Search and browse reassigned courses
You can search or browse for such courses in the learning catalog. For completed and reassigned courses, the results display only courses with the latest status, which are Re-assigned ones.
Ratings and badge assignment
This section describes how ratings and badge assignment works with reassigned completed courses:
- On completion of a course post reassignment, you are not allowed to rate and comment again if you have already rated or commented on the course. However, you can edit your previous ratings or comments.
- If a badge is awarded to you on the successful completion of a course, then the badge is not removed on reassignment of the same. Thereby, the badge is not awarded to you again on completion of the reassigned course.
Limitation
- Reassignment status of courses is not supported in the certification or curriculum lifecycle. That is, re-assignment does not impact the status of a certification or curriculum.
